No Longer Drinking

Last Saturday night me and my friends gathered at my favorite place to celebrate my 32nd birthday. Overall turning 32 hasn’t bothered me. Sure, it makes me realize how much closer I am to 40, still single and longing for a family of my own. But I am fairly content other than that.


The night started off great. Me and my friend Liz sipped sweet tea and spoke about how thankful we were for our friendships. As more and more of my friends trickled in, I ordered a plate of pork tenderloin and veggies. And then I began to order drinks.

The last two years or so I have really cut back my drinking. But from time to time, if there is a special event and friends are together, I end up drinking way too much. I was the girl who always wanted to take shots and had “grand ideas” about drinking. And typically my friends know to say NO. But since it was my birthday they gave into my wishes.

This is where things begin to get hazy. I had invited the guy who I have taken over for at work. He is in the middle of divorce and older. But he came out because they were showing games. I end up pushing my friends to take more shots meanwhile apparently coming on to my coworker.

Talk about embarrassing.

I believe I drank 5 tequila sunrises and six shots. I remember leaving the yard to head to a bar. And from there I have no memory. My friends got me home ok and despite loosing my raybans, I managed to home and in the bed before midnight.

Sunday, I woke up and immediately knew something was wrong. I called my friends to make sure I didn’t do anything stupid. And luckily I didn’t, but they didn’t realize how drunk I was. They just knew I was ready to leave once my co worker left. 

👎🏼

TMI. I never throw up. Like never!

But I did for 12 hours even after there was nothing left. If I even semi sipped a drink of water, it came right back up. And this lasted through half of Monday. I basically came to the conclusion I must have had some form of alcohol poisoning.

32 years, and 11 years of drinking and I poisoned myself.

I’m disappointed in myself. Mostly for the 200 dollar tab I discovered on my card. 

Did I mention I get generous when I drink?

The thought of even a sip of alcohol again makes me sick. I don’t plan on drinking again anytime soon. And I was reminded again that I am not 22. 

4 thoughts on “No Longer Drinking

  1. Happy belated! Meh – it was your birthday, I wouldn’t worry too much about it. If all those shots were different types of alcohol then that’s probably why you got so sick. Hope you’re feeling better.

Leave a Reply

