Moving On

I have met a nice guy. He is smart, funny, tall, attractive and overall I am very comfortable with him. We have gone on about 6 dates over all and while I did not have immediate feelings for him, the more time I spend with him the more I like him.

I was actually ready to end it with him last week. There are a few things we don’t agree on so my excuse to ending our courtship would be easy. He is 28 years old and bit lost right now (as all 29 year olds his age seem to be). He asked if I would go to Texas Day Brazil this past Thursday and I agreed. I was adamant that this would be our last day.

Half way through dinner he said, “May I ask you a personal question?”

“Of course.”

“Are you happy?”

I was completely thrown off guard. I thought he was going to ask me something completely different. I answered immediately, “Of course I am happy.”

He responded, “I ask this because you sometimes seem sad about things, and it appears your family causes you a lot of stress.”

I thought about it. And while there are many things in my life that are very good at the moment; my job, living in Memphis, dating…. there are many things that make me sad.

I decided to open up. And I told him, everything. I told him about my ex that died, and the disappointment from my failed last relationship, and how I sad I am still about the loss of my stepfather in May that I have not began to grieve for. It was heavy material, but he responded so well. He opened up as well about some things that make him sad. About the life he has led where for a long time he was the parent to both of his parents and how this has skewed him and how he is trying to fix it.

I saw a different side of him and I liked it. I was sad when the night ended.

The next two days, I reflected on it. I began to realize what I was doing. I was pushing someone away who cared for me because deep down in my subconscious I am still waiting on my Ex to call and say he made a mistake. I can’t move on because I can’t let go.

Then, like a sign from God, on Saturday I was scrolling through facebook and one of my co-workers was at a charity event. My ex and his sister (who he has this unnatural relationship with) were in the background. His hair was cut back to the way he had it when we were dating and him in his same old clothes. I only saw his back, but it sent a shockwave through me.

For one, I realized immediately that he will never change. He will always be glued to his sister. I messaged my friend there and she saw him but didn’t realize he was in the photo. She said he was playing 5th wheel to the group (as usual). I tried to push it out of my mind and attempted to enjoy the rest of the evening with my friends.

On Sunday, me and the new guy went for breakfast and a walk around down by the River. Once again I found myself relaxed and enjoying his company even more. He has an ease in the way he has been so caring for me. Very subtle but I know he likes me, as he has told me on a few occasions.

After our walk, I decided to use the afternoon for more reflection. And then I did something really strange and I am slightly embarrassed to admit.

I contacted a physic.

YES. I realize that this is just so silly of me.

Here is the information I gave her: Mine and my ex’s birthday. The amount of time we dated and that we have been broken up for 7 months. And the question I asked was, “Am I foolish for waiting for him to change his mind?”

That was the only information I gave her.

I received a 3 minute video and her response was chilling.

“I hope you are doing well today. And I hope you don’t find this message negative. But from the cards, I see that your previous relationship had no backing. You cared way more than he ever did and deep down you know this. He always had one foot in, and one foot out. He is stuck in the past with someone, and for a bit he honestly thought he was going to get her back after he dumped you. But that did not work out. He will never feel remorse for dumping you because his heart was never fully in it. If he ever does, it will be long down the road, for the cards that I read show him being a lone for many years. Do not think that the breakup had anything to do with you. In fact, he only stayed as long as he did to please those around him. It is time to let him go and my advice is to completely move on. In fact, I see someone coming into your life in the next few months. Someone completely opposite than him. Someone with light hair, light eyes who will admittedly care for you in ways that Chad never could. It is time to let go so you can completely open up. Stop waiting for something that will never happen and move on.”

I was floored. She nailed it. And although everything she said I already knew, it was like the final straw in my wait for him. And I really realized it was NEVER going to happen.

She was right… there is a tall lighter hair man (which i normally do not date) with light eyes who has shown he cares. And it is time for me to stop living in the past and fully move on.

I am ready to leave the past where it is and try to look forward to what may come.

 

2 thoughts on “Moving On

    • I felt silly for doing it but she really did say somethings that were strikingly right. It’s time to let him go and move on.

Leave a Reply

