Change is Good

I have debated if I should blog about this until it has officially happened. But I have held it in TOO long.

I am officially leaving my job of 5 years to go to another place. I start next Friday. I have NOT given my notice because my boss (who I am close to personally) has been on vacation the last week and I really want to do it in person out of respect for her and I didn’t want to ruin her vacation. I am in a sales position, so the second I give them my notice they will make me leave.

It all started about three months ago. My place of employment requires the sales people to be very active on LinkedIn. I post updates about the industry and write posts. This has led to me getting countless requests from recruiters and competitors. I have repeatedly turned them down for a very long time. I have been happy with my job and I have done well.

But two months ago I received a connection request from a very large company. I didn’t think much about it, because I get those pretty often too. I accept and within an hour he had sent me a message about a job that they had open. I was immediately interested because it is the DREAM to work for this company. But my loyalty and happiness here made me say no. Weekly he checked in with me, still asking if we could talk on the phone so that he could really tell me about this job opportunity. I had one bad week, and decided to give him a call.

I told him I was happy where I was and that there was nothing they could offer me to make me want to leave where I am. He asked me to just send him my resume, and look at the job online. If I felt compelled to interview he would be the one doing it along with two other executives. I talked it over with my work BFF and she said what was the harm. Our company has been suffering the last three years and who knows where we will be in the next 5. So I wrote up a new resume fast (didn’t even proof read it), checked out the online job and applied. I received word the next day when my interview would be.

Going over to their office was pretty amazing. The size and just the feeling of walking in gave me goosebumps, but I wasn’t nervous. If there is one thing I can sell, it is myself. I walked into the room and was drilled by the executives for over an hour. And I nailed it. Upon walking out, my main contact said “You didn’t even seem nervous.” and I said, “I wasn’t. I have nothing to lose because I am not trying to leave.”

A week went by and I didn’t hear anything. I thought to myself that I had done the right thing by taking a chance, but I knew it wouldn’t amount to anything.

But then my contact called me. He said out of 50 people that they received applications for, they narrowed it down to 25, then to 10, then they interviewed 5 candidates. And I was their unanimous pick for number one.

Talk about an ego boast.

I thanked him and before I could finish my sentence he said, “Let me tell you what we want to offer you.”

He said it and I almost choked. Never in a million years would I thought I could have a base pay that high, or all the benefits and the support. This company is a world wide company and they have the backing. I was speechless as he went on and on about the things they were offering me, even to the extra week of vacation I asked for in the interview.

I told him I needed a night to really think it over but I already knew my answer and it broke my heart.

I started in this industry with this company. They have taught me everything I know, and although we are mid-size I have been happy here. There have been rough moments but overall I have handled the pressure and moved up. But the reality is…where will I be in another 5 years? Not doing this same thing I hope.

I talked it over with my parents, my closest friends, and my work BFF and they all said I would be INSANE not to take it.

So I am officially doing it. Not only will it provide me with more financial support than I ever though possible, but the ability to grow and move with the company is what really makes it worth wild to me. I will miss my small office here, and the people I have gotten to know.

And now I just have to get through the weekend so I can tell my boss on Monday morning. That is something I am NOT looking forward to. She has been a mentor, a teacher, a sister, a friend and a great boss. I hope she isn’t angry and that she is understanding given the position. But it will be very sad to have to leave on that day.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Change is Good

  1. Congratulations! It is great to be wanted. And the guilt for leaving a good thing sucks, but I hope you come to look back on this in a year and feel the gratitude for making the leap.

    I worked for a university IT department for 7 years. My main mentor had come to run the department. Another had taken over as my supervisor not long prior. Most of my friends were coworkers. But, I was leaving for a huge opportunity to do big things for twice the pay. It felt like I was letting them down, but really it solved the problem that I had taken on far too much (at times working 100-110 hour weeks) and made it better.

Leave a Reply

