What Love Isn’t

One of the blogs I follow, Rosie over at The Hookup Culture  wrote this beautiful post. I suggest going to read it if you haven’t already.

It really spoke to my heart and brought me back to my relationship with Ex #4.

My favorite lines:

Love isn’t easy. It’s just as complicated as every other emotion out there – if not more.”

Love isn’t life. Loving yourself should be a priority over finding someone to love you.”

Love isn’t easy. This was the main argument when he and I were breaking up. He thought it should be easy. No fights or disagreements. No ruts. You should be as happy as you were in the beginning at all times. On your best behavior I guess.

But that isn’t reality.

The thing I have learned the most of the last few months is that people change. Some it takes years, while others it could be short months. Your love for one another is never guaranteed to last a lifetime.

Communication is key and being in a relationship is a CHOICE above all else. If you choose to not be in it, so be it. But don’t be a coward and shy away because it isn’t this perfect thing you have idealistically tried to make it.

Either way, Go read her post. I have tagged it below:

 

I don’t know what love is. I don’t know how to feel it, when it’s supposed to happen, or how you’re supposed to know. Every time I thought I was in love I ended up bitterly heartbroken, utterly confused, and pretty convinced that what just happened wasn’t actually love. All I know is what love isn’t. Love […]

via What Love Isn’t — Hookup Culture

4 thoughts on “What Love Isn’t

  1. I don’t know how to privately message you here. But I wanted you to know the woman that raised me, my grandmother, is named Mary Ruth. I just recently posted about her in the Tree Hugging Little Girl. I was wondering if that name is important to you?

    • That is my name 🙂 I am named after both of my grandmothers. So yes, it is very important to me. I have only met a few in my lifetime, mostly older. One younger than me.

Leave a Reply

