Andrew McMahon and The Wilderness

Seeing a band you loved over a ten years ago (or a guy in the band you loved over ten years ago) brings back so many great memories. My old roommate from college, Mandy, first introduced me to Jacks Mannequin. I had previously been a fan of Something Corporate when I was in high school. The leader of those groups, Andrew McMahon, has continued on passed each band. And now goes by the name of Andrew McMahon and The Wilderness.

The only time I ever saw him perform was at Beale Street Music Festival way back in 2007. It was the second time I had ever been. Me, Mandy, her sister and another friend went down. Memphis was the big scary city. I remember the four of us being nervous about walking on the streets.

Oh how silly and dumb we were!

We managed to get really close to the stage until Mandy’s sister passed out of the heat and the excitement of it all. I saw three songs, but he was still beyond a barrier and beyond four very large security guards.

For the last 9 years I have continuous checked on the his touring schedule and he has gone to Nashville a few times, but never Memphis.And finally, two weeks ago while driving into work. I heard on the radio he was coming to the New Daisy on Beale Street.

I could only think of ONE person to take. My old roommate Mandy. This was around the time she and I couldn’t get plans together to meet up. I asked her to go to the concert. We met up for dinner, caught up on each others “adults” lives and headed to the concert.

He isn’t one of the best singers, but he knows how to put on a show. We were able to get as close as we could to the stage for two old ladies. He walked by with a large duck floatie to sail to the stage and I squeezed in a quick touch on the shoulder.

I felt like I was 15 again.

He played songs from all his bands. “Punk Rock Princess” had the crowd going crazy. And when the second song was “Dark Blue” I knew we were in for a show. The music was beautiful and on point and he was having a great time.

Seeing a performer who has been around nearly 20 years and still doing what he is doing is amazing. Makes me want to quit my job and go on the road.

387

408415428

Wrapped in a parachute

470

476

Encores

480

He rode this thing twice. Sailed to the back for a jaeger shot.

486

447

 

 

Leave a Reply

