Breaking Up With Nothing

I have found myself in a strange place.

Somehow I have been dating someone for two months (we are not IN a relationship) and it has hit me that I don’t want to anymore. I can’t really put my finger on it or when it happen, but suddenly I am not longer attracted to this person, emotionally or physically.

The reason that this is uncharted territory for me is because typically I know within a two week period if this will work or not. And when it doesn’t I am quick to end it. But this time because of other circumstances (the death of my stepfather and stresses from work) I was lending on him from the very beginning and ignoring a lot of warning signs that my feelings would begin to falter.

I feel horrible about this. He is a great guy; he is nice, funny, and well mannered. He can communicate his feelings, something I haven’t had a in my last relationship. But something is still “missing.” We are not “equally yoked”, as my sister would say.

I don’t know how to end this. I don’t know how to say “I am sorry, but it isn’t working.” And I know I should JUST SAY THAT but I am finding it hard to form the words around him even though my feelings are not in it anymore.

I am lost. Feeling guilty.

And yet I just want to be alone right now.

One thought on “Breaking Up With Nothing

  1. Good luck! For me, I kept thinking that ending things with my also not actual boyfriend of 2 months was going to be really rough, but when it actually happened, he was mature enough to understand. It ended up being a relatively short phone conversation.

Leave a Reply

